I. Am. Back!

Off-Topic Community Conversations and Discussions

Moderators: Moderator, DM

Warath

I. Am. Back!

Unread post by Warath »

Hello BG:TSCC community!

New account, old player here. I started playing BG:TSCC back around 2007-2008 time frame for a good long while, when the Underdark was the highest level area in the game, the shadow dragon had the best loots, and drow priestesses made one cringe. The community was smaller then, server much smaller, and sometimes had a queue to get in.

At the time, my favorite character was a half-orc weaponmaster named Vurk Koll, who walked around Baldurs with his scythe and tower shield with one thing on his mind: stop the oppression. The racism on the server was rampant, and half-orcs were definitely shunned by most players. Sometimes spit on, insulted, ridiculed, and tormented by others. This bred a lot of dissension.

Vurk Koll met another half-orc stormcaller named Rikus, who shared in the same fate. The two teamed up, and began to recruit other neutral or evil adventurers to begin wreaking havoc on the world. Other adventurers were slaughtered, tormented, and missives were put up with bounties on our head. It was a fantastic time.

To all that remember this time, I bow to you.

I used that inspiration to write my first fantasy novel (unfortunately it's locked down by my old publisher, whom I had a falling out with... but still viewable on Amazon). Yes, Rikus is in the book, as is Vurk Koll and a couple others. I had such a blast writing the book, and playing BG:TSCC that it has become a part of me.